skip to main |
skip to sidebar
Originally posted Januay 10/2008 on "Allison Wonderland"
We had a sick boy yesterday morning. Simon is usually reasonably happy when he wakes up, if still a bit sleepy. Yesterday, though, he was not a happy guy. He was floppy and sad and crying. He'd had a good sleep, so I knew something was up... I just didn't know what. I found out after AJ left (for his RCMP interview!), when Simon barfed all over the couch. On my spot, to be exact. Chunky, curdled milk barf. Blargh! Yeah, it made me gag, but it was better than it would have been a few months ago.
< Sad, sick boy
Leather couches are looking better and better. At least you can wipe stuff off of them... I had no idea how to get liquid barf out of upholstery. I guess that's good, since it means we haven't had to deal with it before, but still... not a smell you want lingering. I got most of the ick up with paper towels and tried to soak up the liquid with a dish towel... and tried to wash the spot with dish soap and warm water... and then I dumped a crapload of baking soda on it to soak up the wetness AND the smell. And I added a reminder to myself:
Definitely didn't want to sit on that... especially after the baking soda turned into a nice yellow paste, which I then dumped more baking soda on.
The good news is that it was dry this morning, and I vacuumed up all of the dust and yuckiness. I haven't got too close, but so far, I can't smell anything (but I'm pretty sure I'll be febreze-ing it, anyway). As for Simon, he had a bath (and so did Tiger) and a long nap, and by supper time he seemed fine. I don't know what that was all about, but I'm glad it didn't last long, anyway. He's happily munching on apples and jumping around now, and I'm getting smiles today. Hooray!
And AJ? He passed his interview, no problems. I'm so proud of him! That's the step in the application process he was most worried about, and the interviewer told him he shouldn't have any problems with the rest of it. Next comes the polygraph test... crazy.
Originally posted January 9/2008 on "Allison Wonderland"Don't you just hate it when you finally get to sleep, and then something startles you and wakes you up? I get that a lot. Every night, actually, when AJ opens the bedroom door to come to bed- the noise makes me jump out of my skin. Literally. And then it's just a pain in the arse to have to get up, take off my pajamas and put my skin back on... but if I don't, someone might come along and steal it, and who knows what horrible things they might do while they looked like me? No, it's best to just get up, put the darn thing back on and try to get to sleep.
(note: This is what I was thinking about as I was trying to fall asleep last night. No, I am not taking non-prescription drugs... apparently the prescription ones are doing the job just fine.)
Originally posted January 6/2008 on "Allison Wonderland"
Originally posted January 4/2008 on "Allison Wonderland"I think the Critter has hiccups. Again. Poor little guy. It feels weird, but it's better than when he's kicking me. He's going to do it, you know- he's going to bust out of there. That, or they're going to cut me open and face an angry bundle of punches and karate kicks next month.
The pushing actually hurts sometimes- like, about once a day, when he really gets going. Inspired by a name used by Dad Gone Mad, I told the Critter that if he doesn't knock it off, I'm going to name him Dingleberry Bumblef*ck.
He doesn't seem too concerned, but it made me feel better.
Speaking of naming, no, AJ has not reached a decision on which name he prefers, which means we can't agree OR debate the issue yet. I'll keep you posted. I can tell you that he saw a preview for Alvin and the Chipmunks and decided that Theodore would be an excellent name, because then when his dad visits, we could have Calvin, Simon and Theodore. VETO.I've been trying to create a naming poll here, but apparently my current format doesn't support that, so what we're going to do is this: Here's a list of names; leave a comment with your name and the one you prefer. This is for entertainment purposes only, of course...
-Nathan Steven (Nate)
-Isaac Steven (Ike)
- Dingleberry Bumblef*ck
-Theodore
-Other (leave in comments)
Originally posted January 2/2008 on "Allison Wonderland"Christmas is over. We had a good one; I missed my family, as I do every year, but it's good to have some family (B&B) and friends-who-are-practically-family around. We saw the friends on Christmas Eve, the family on Christmas day.
Simon didn't get to sleep until almost 12:40 on Christmas Eve; AJ figures Santa had to loop back around to our place because SOMEONE wasn't asleep. As if the poor man doesn't have enough to do! We slept in on Christmas morning- I expect that this was the last time that'll happen for many years. Simon's first stocking present was a Wiggles video, which he wanted to watch right away; we managed to convince him to open some more presents first. He got the hang of it quickly, and by the end of the day he was looking at B&B's tree, asking, "A moooore? A more get?" At last, the child appreciates the true meaning of Christmas! I think the lights on the houses were still his favourite thing this year, though.
But yeah, it's over. I took the tree down yesterday; everything else was already packed away. I managed to get all of the Christmas stuff into two plastic bins; well, all except the big container of gold balls. That, and the big case of blue balls, but that's another issue entirely.
The cats aren't too happy about the tree coming down. It was Gus' favourite sleeping spot for a while, but he hasn't been able to get under there since the presents appeared. Still, they both enjoyed chewing on the branches... of the ARTIFICIAL TREE. Dummies. Simon watched me take the decorations off, and he seems ok with the whole thing; AJ is much sadder now that Christmas is over. He still has another one to look forward to, though, when his parents come to visit later this month.
Speaking of this month, we haven't heard from the property management company yet about who they are or where to send the rent money. I thought today, for sure... heck, if they don't want it, that's fine by me. It would be nice to know who we're dealing with (or not), though.
Originally posted December 29/2007 on "Allison Wonderland"Wow... last post 1 week ago? Christmas was busy. There have been many times I've thought about something (only God knows why most of the time) and thought, I should write that down. But I didn't, which means that you'll be spared most of my incoherent ramblings from last week. Merry Christmas.
One thing, though. I was at Sobeys (did you know they don't carry Wonderbread? Is that legal?) and I saw bags of those little, pink, hard-candy sticks that grandmas and great-aunts seem to have out every Christmas... I never knew they were called "Chicken Bones". Sick! I don't want to eat a candy that's named after something that goes in the garbage, and then the dog finds it and eats it and then gets sick and needs $4000 surgery before he gets a perforated bowel.
Besides, they look more like finger bones, anyway.
Originally posted December 21/2007 om "Allison Wonderland"
A few days ago I said the workers on the roof sounded like a rhinoceros orgy.
In case you were wondering, today they sound like the Morbidly Obese One-Legged Irish Dancers' League.
(doesn't that sound like it should be a FOX reality show?)