Originally posted September 6/2007 on "Allison Wonderland"
Two nights ago, I tucked a baby into bed. Now I have a two-year old. Nothing has changed, except that his tiger has more chocolate frosting on it, right next to the smear of strawberry jam I haven't been able to wash out yet. He's the same, sweet Simon he was two days ago; right now he's quite happy driving his dinky cars all over the coffee table. He's quite excited about the 6 new ones he got at Value Village yesterday. He's not hard to please, that one.
I think he had a good day yesterday. Well, aside from having to get up early to get hauled off to the hospital so some lady could put messy jelly on mommy's belly and we could all look at a fuzzy grey tv show with no sound. BO-RING! But then we got to go to McDonald's for breakfast, which probably evened things out for the morning.
Yeah, the ultrasound was fine. I wasn't wrong in being worried that I was too small to be 5 months along... but apparently I'm just fine for exactly 16 weeks, which we are today. I knew that date had to be wrong! So the due date has been changed; we're now looking at around February 21st. Wait, something else happens around the 21st.... oh, right, MY BIRTHDAY, on the 23rd. It figures, though; my family has an insane number of February birthdays, not to mention the birthdays and anniversaries of several friends. Some day we'll get organized and just have a massive party for all of us... and maybe instead of buying presents for everyone so soon after Christmas, we'll each just buy ourselves one really wicked thing and show it off at the party. Sweeeeeet.
ANYWAY, back to Simon's birthday. After breakfast, we all came home and had a nap. Even AJ, and he does NOT nap. He was tired from jogging and using his 1-week pass for GoodLife. I'm so proud of how he's sticking to his exercise program, getting ready to try for the RCMP. And can I just say, once more, how hot that man would (will) look in a uniform? Hummina-hummina-hummina...
What was I saying? Oh, nap. Then lunch. Then Wal-Mart, where Simon cried after his daddy dropped us off; Simon's rather attached to Dad-Dad these days, which is killing Dad-Dad's arms and back, but he can't say no to his boy. Then there were more tears after we wouldn't pay $10.00 for a Thomas book (he's WAY into trains now), but Simon DID get a new Wiggles DVD for his birthday, and a puzzle, and the aforementioned cars. Value Village was the next stop after Wal-Mart, actually; we had to go so the birthday boy could see his friends there. He was wearing the birthday shirt my mom made for him- too cute!
Oh, wait... we got Booster Juice in there somewhere, too. It was yum.
Then home, then more nap for tired boy and his mom, then French Toast (liberty toast?!) for supper- one of Mr. Simon's favourites. The best part of the day was last night, though. Mr. Jordan and Mrs. Jennifer and Chickey&Jenn came over for cake and presents... and to watch the Wiggles. OK, so only Mr. Jordan and Simon watched the Wiggles... and danced.*
It was a good night. Simon had fun, and then he went to bed without complaining (except about brushing his teeth; it's an issue). It's too bad it was a week-night, 'cause I could've stayed up all night with our friends. They're a good bunch- and it doesn't hurt that they love our kid, either. :)
Friday, February 5, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment