Originally posted November 12/2007 on "Allison Wonderland"
The sun'll come out tomorrow, bet yer bottom dollar that tomorrow, there'll be...
Oh, wait... it's already here. After what, five days of heavy rain? That was crazy- and none too good for our leaky porch roof, either. It stinks in there. And it's wet. And did I mention that it's stinky? But I think we can safely assume at this point that nothing is going to get fixed until the house gets sold- it'll be the new owner's problem. Worse, if the house doesn't sell (and we haven't heard anything either way yet), Clompie will lease the upper floors, and it'll never get fixed. Either way, I don't see anything happening until the spring, at which point we'll be moving- one way or another.
Yesterday there was what looked like a woodpecker out in the yard- medium sized bird, light brown with black spots and a red crown- and I think she was looking for shelter from the rain. I would've been. Apparently the space between Clompie's deck and our porch roof looked promising, so in she went... and came back out 5 seconds later, wetter than before (if that's possible). She looked totally confused, like "What the... that's the worst place EVER!" And then she was gone. I think we can safely assume that's why birds don't build nests under there, either.
But yes, today it's a beautiful day in the neighbourhood (and elsewhere), which is really nice for everyone who has today off work. I had a headache this morning (bloody air pressure), but a big pot of tea and probably too much tylenol have helped that. My only problem now is that there's this cranky little man here who won't go to bed. Yeah, it's great that he's talking more now, but it's a tough morning when the only word he wants to use is "NO!"
"Do you want some cereal?"
"no"
"Are you thirsty?"
"no" (as he reaches for his juice cup)
He has also, in the last three days, developed a strong objection to having his clothes changed. It doesn't matter what he's wearing, or what we want to put on him, whatever he's got on is best- even if it's freezing and he's completely naked. This morning I think he was telling me that it's against his religion to have is soaked diaper changed, and I had no right to put those pajamas into the wash. Then he didn't want anything else put on... and now he can't part with what he's wearing, not even his diaper. How is it that I feel like a monster for getting my kid dressed so he doesn't stink like urine all day?
On the other hand, his saying "no," isn't all bad; it seems to be making him immune to advertising (yeah, right). Last night he was watching a car commercial (his favourite kind), and it asked him, "Shouldn't your car be as exhilarating as your life?". Before I could tell him that, sadly, our lives ARE as exhilarating as out station wagon, he answered for himself- "no!".
I think we'll still try to avoid all the "Christmas" season toy commercials, though.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment